top of page

Laundry Room DIY Project!

I finished my laundry room project and I now have plenty of storage and an area to fold my laundry; the only thing missing is a flat screen. ; ) I added a few accessories and textured wallpaper as a "backsplash"!

My husband and I went to Home Depot and started searching the isles for materials that would make this project as affordable and simple as it could be!

Because we wanted black cabinetry, we used unfinished wood and cabinetry and painted it with black satin paint; they also have pre-stained and painted cabinets if you prefer wood tones or white.

Instead of buying a pre-made countertop or shelves, we had Home Depot employees cut wood pieces in the specific measurements we needed and painted those as well.

We attached 2x4's to the walls on all three sides to act as brackets; it was much easier than trying to make multiple brackets level. I placed the particle board on top of the 2x4 brackets and started added molding and trim to back, sides, and front of the particle board; I used both wood glue and finishing nails.

Final touches always include paintable caulk in all of the areas that have gaps; gaps are inevitable when working with wood!

To share this post on Pinterest, Facebook, or Google + please click on the picture above!

IMG_2116.JPG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page